A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Debts

Whew!  Sorry it took so long guys, I did not realize how long it would take for me to get all of these financials put together.  So now that I finally been able to collect everything and sit down and put it together, let’s continue shall we?

Now that I have a goal, it’s time to show the true numbers.   The time has come for the schematics of the process, and the dirty details of everything that has to be taken care of while I am also saving for my rainy day fund.

I am a recent full-time college student graduate.  I have student loans and expenses that came from being a student on a daily basis.  So we have to first look at my debts in order to start taking care of my dreams.

Car loan: $4,565.

This is my biggest part of my budget right now.  Considering that my car loan used to be $16k two and a half years ago, I am very proud of myself on being able to knock this down so quickly.  Instead of just paying the $250.91 monthly pay, I instead pay $301 every month and put the rest on principle.  You will be amazed at how much this takes care so quickly!  It takes care of both interest and pays a little more than needed to take the car down to decrease future interest on the loan.

If money starts heading my way, I would like to increase the payment an extra $20 a month to $321 if possible.  But it’s not necessary.

Credit cards: $8,000.

Being a college student on a limited income, this has been a necessary evil to survive on weeks and months when most of my paychecks have been going towards car insurance and car payments.  I pay about $250 a month on payments, but that is over the minimum requirement.  I try to pay as much as possible off it I can every month to help make my living situation a little more doable.

My goal is to upgrade this to $300 a month and to rely on cash only from now.  So far, I have been doing very well with the cash only rule.

My student loans: about $20,000.

My goal is to pay $75 on this every two months while I am still in college to get a head start on the payments.  I know this seems silly, but currently my loans are only gaining a very small amount of interest, and this $75 will start making head way.  Besides, the less debt that my boyfriend and I have equals more money for us later down the road to put towards our wedding, a house, and the furnishings.

Total Debt: approximately $33k.

Wow.  That’s not even breaking things down further.  That can happen later in other posts, because just looking at this now… Looking at what I have to take care of while doing my emergency fund is overwhelming.  Things look scary at the moment.  Very scary.  Is this really possible to do?

Count those raindrops!

DecMeadow.

Leave a Reply

