A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Rain Drops & Jobs

Okay, so $32k in debt.  Good grief.  Most people would say they were doomed.  How exactly am I going to pay this off?  Well, this is where resourcefulness comes into play.  It’s where odd jobs, incentives, ad space on this blog, selling items, and other things come to help pay regular day life costs so that the checks that come in every week from work go straight to the bills.

I call them raindrops.

For after all, one raindrop may not make much of a difference, but a few hundred to a few thousand can be all that is needed to cause a flood.

Where do I get these raindrops you might ask?  Anywhere I can get them.  Right now I’ll reveal two of them to you.

Currently I am selling textbooks, records, cds, dvds, video games, you name it on Amazon.com.  I’m not just selling my stuff however, I’m selling other people’s stuff too.  I take a small 20% out as my fee and they get the rest of the money after Amazon takes its cut, and shipping and handling.  It’s become a good business on the side, and I hope to expand soon.

I work full time.  Just a couple of months ago, I took a promotion as essentially an assistant manager position, and with it came a $1/hour raise.  Not only that, but I get mileage for the all the out of town training that I’ve been doing in the last month.  Not too shabby in my opinion 😉  It certainly has helped relieve some of the stress.

That’s only a few of my raindrops, but now you might have a way of doing something yourself to gain a little extra cash for the holidays.

2 responses

  1. Stop by COMICS CUBED, and let’s discuss how we can help each other out. I have a few ideas.

    September 28, 2012 at 9:50 am

  2. This is EXCELLENT that you are looking for side businesses. Cutting expenses is one part, and increasing income is the other key. The I Will Teach You To Be Rich blog has a lot of really good ideas for increasing income. I’ve really become a fan of his strategies on personal finance in general.

    October 1, 2012 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

