A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Losing Weight on a Budget

Even though I am currently working on getting a budget together by collecting my expenditures and such this month, that does not mean that my ideas and implementation of such should be suspended.  And since I have restarted my healthy weight loss regimen with the first day of this month, it has already become an issue.

A lot of people use weight loss programs such as Weight Watchers or Nurtrisystem that can cost hundreds of dollars a year.  More people spend money on healthy and organic foods but lose a lot of that money in waste every week.  It’s a budget maker’s nightmare truth be told.

I love the idea of Weight Watchers.  Go figure right?  The program that helps you stay motivated by having encouragement from others who are in the same situation would be the program I have the most interest.  Why do you think I created a budget; money saving blog???  The only bad thing is it costs a lot of money.  And any money at this point guys is a lot of money in my world.  It’s overwhelming having all of this debt that I don’t want in any way to keep piling on top.  So I found the perfect solution: My Fitness Pal.

It’s the free version of Weight Watchers and you have peers online keeping you motivated and on task.  Lots of encouragement, lots of fun, and lots of inspiration all over that website and its forums. I have used this program over the course of this year and fell off it because I had no one with me working on it.  However, when I was on it last, I lost 8 pounds, and the lifestyle of watching my overall daily intake has helped me stay at that weight for the past month without really trying. Doesn’t mean I haven’t cheated, but I have done so much better at maintaining now.

I really want to try it again.  I feel it’s just the best time to start making some very positive changes in my life, and why not do this while coinciding with a promotion, a fresh college graduation, and a lifestyle choice on saving money. Now that my boyfriend and I are both heavily committed to it, we have each other to encourage each other every day (or nag, whichever you prefer).

Here’s my next problem:  a lot of people get a gym membership when they want to lose weight.  As any money is more money than I am willing to spend, going to the gym is out of the question.  I will simply rely on working out on my terms.  True, that will probably mean a lot more sit-ups and push-ups, but I can handle that.  My mother also has a stationary bike, and my boyfriend and I like to take long walks when the weather is decent.  I might even get back to borrowing the family Wii and working out on Wii Fit when the weather starts to turn and I can’t go outside as much as I would like to be active.  Using the potential tools that I already have is the best way of keeping in budget and not accruing any unnecessary expenditures.

The last hurdle that I have to clear is how am I going to save money on the healthy foods like fresh produce and organic items that are usually more expensive than the heavily saturated products out there?  Truly, that is the ultimate reason why so many at the lower pay brackets are fighting obesity… the fatty, bad for you foods are just cheaper.  The other dilemma to this hurdle is that if I go grocery shopping only once a week, I run the risk of losing so much money in potential food waste.  I don’t want to do that.  It seems the only solution would to buy only what I want and need for two-three days worth of food.  Sure that might mean that I have to go grocery shopping a couple of times a week, but honestly, that’s not really going to hurt my gas budget because I can easily run to the grocery store when I am on my way home from work most days.  Not only will this save me money, but I will control the potential food waste and my calorie intake at the same time.

To sum it all up, my goals are simple for losing weight:

  • Use MyFitnessPal.com to count calories and track daily exercise
  • Use my mother’s exercise bike, the family Wii, and just plain hard exercise like push-ups and sit-ups to save money from a gym.
  • Save money by preventing potential food waste by only buying the amount of food that I will be eating every couple of days.

Are you trying to lose weight and save money at the same time?  Any tips?  What is your experience on this issue?

Count those raindrops!

DecMeadow.

17 responses

  1. What’s up, I read your new stuff regularly. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep it up! weight loss quick

    October 5, 2012 at 8:53 pm

  2. Useful information. Lucky me I found your website unintentionally, and I am surprised why this twist of fate did not came about earlier! I bookmarked it.

    October 6, 2012 at 3:00 am

  3. Great items from you, man. I have take into account your stuff prior to and you are just too great. I really like what you’ve received right here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way by which you say it. You’re making it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific web site.

    October 6, 2012 at 5:54 pm

  4. This article will assist the internet visitors for building up new
    web site or even a blog from start to end.

    October 7, 2012 at 2:40 pm

  5. You can definitely see your skills within the paintings you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

    October 8, 2012 at 1:04 am

  6. Keep up the good work!Thanks for the great info.

    October 8, 2012 at 10:58 am

  7. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this submit and if I may just I wish to suggest you some attention-grabbing issues or suggestions. Maybe you could write subsequent articles relating to this article. I desire to learn more things about it!

    October 8, 2012 at 7:29 pm

  8. Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clearness in your put up is simply spectacular and that i could suppose you’re an expert on this subject. Fine together with your permission allow me to grasp your RSS feed to keep up to date with imminent post. Thanks one million and please continue the gratifying work.

    October 8, 2012 at 11:54 pm

  9. Great website. A lot of useful info here. I am sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks in your effort!

    October 9, 2012 at 1:18 pm

  10. You’re really a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace is incredible. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you have done a wonderful activity on this topic!

    October 10, 2012 at 2:14 am

  11. Russell

    On the portion of joining a gym, many places offer a student discount which may be looking into, also look and see if they have special going on in the near future. A membership “if used” can be a good investment and not just another expenditure. A stationary bike and crunches alone are not the best means of losing weight (it is still far better than sitting on the couch!!). A gym will often offer a free orientation for members with a trainer. During that time you can ask question on what excercises, machines, classes, and food choices you should be making to reach your goal, take advantage of this session they are there to help and guide YOU. Yes excercising at home is possible however few people statistically follow through (The “ill do it tommorrow mentallity”) If you are paying for something your going to use it, it just a matter of making it fit your schedule.

    There are many online nutrition trackers available, however just there are alot of cars not all of them are good choices. Weight watchers uses a point system per week, so an apple = 1 or 2 points i believe. Some could in theory save their alloted points for the week and gorge themselves on the weekend. This is not good because they are limiting their food throughout the week and gaining massively excessive calorie on the weekend = weight gain and fat gain.

    It is not wrong to use a site such a my fitness pal however keep in mind not all is at it appears. I suggest looking up a nutrition program which is free if you look hard enough, i.e. google. Some good choices are the paleo diet, velocity, South Beach, or just plain eating fresh foods. The processed foods is what makes us gain excess fat as well starches. in short (hahaha) stay away from pastas, white bread, white rices, and packaged carbohydrates (chips, triscuit). They are very hard for the body to process and use as energy so when they are converted they are stroed as fat. Try to more meats and more fats and plenty of fresh vegetables. Brown rice, sweet potatoes would be good alternative for someone who may be carb addicted because they digest more easily.

    October 10, 2012 at 8:32 am

  12. I have learn a few good stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much effort you set to create such a excellent informative site.

    October 11, 2012 at 7:49 am

  13. Today, I went to the beachfront with my
    children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic
    but I had to tell someone!

    October 11, 2012 at 8:06 am

  14. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after browsing through many of the posts I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back
    regularly!

    October 12, 2012 at 2:59 pm

  15. Hi there, simply was aware of your weblog via Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful in case you continue this in future. Numerous folks might be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

    October 14, 2012 at 4:39 am

  16. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.

    There’s no doubt that that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but typically folks don’t talk about these topics.
    To the next! Cheers!!

    November 2, 2012 at 11:51 pm

Leave a Reply

