A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Reality Check – Living with the Parents

Soo… You all might be wondering after I posted that Breakdown of my bills this month, what the housing situation might be in my life.  To be truthful, I’m going the cheapest you can when you’re a recent college grad…. I live at home with my mother.

Yes, I know I can already hear the groans, sighs, and maybe even the eye rolls out there.  You’re all now thinking, man… this girl isn’t legit.  She doesn’t know the true horrors of trying to make it.  She lives with her parents.  What a crock right?

Well, I can tell you it isn’t a crock.  I call something like this hurdle; this bump in the road, a reality check.  And my reality check is this:  I have so much debt (32k remember?) that I have to live at home with my parents in order to be able to tread water.  If I didn’t live with my mother, I would be further in debt.  I would have so much stress of trying to pay off all of my bills every month that I would have no choice but to move out of an apartment anyway.  So, yes… I will make the sacrifice of not having my own place for a couple of years in order to gain some buoyancy back and be able float above water when my debts are lower or gone.

You might all be grumbling about how you wouldn’t be able to live with the parents again right now.  Yes, it can be a bit stressful at times, what parent child bond isn’t?  And yet, it’s not really sacrifice in my opinion.  I love my mother.  I can consider her a best friend of mine and a true confidant.  We honestly don’t fight much and enjoy each others’ company.  She understands my situation, and I help out around the house when I can (i.e. I just bought toiletries for myself, brother, and the rest of the family a couple of weeks back).  Don’t laugh.  I’m not taking advantage, nor am I living a hard life.  It’s a life choice that a lot of families are having to consider now with the economic turn.  I know of quite a few, and you read the stories all the time of families moving in together in order to save money and have only one set of utility bills, housing payment, etc.. in order to get out of debt.

It’s going to end up being a tight budget here in the coming year as I crack down and try to pay off as much debt as possible.  My job pays very little a month to make it on my own even before the debts.  I would rather not be evicted for not being able to pay to be honest.  And I am sure, as most mothers are wont to do… would rather have me here at her home instead of getting a phone call nearly every month that I can’t make rent and is it possible to get a few hundred to take care of the problem.  I don’t want to borrow money from my mother, she has it rough as it is being a single parent.  I return what I can through landscaping (one of many past jobs during college… I’ll tell you about it some day), household chores, and the buying household needed items like toiletries, laundry detergent, food, etc.. when I can.

Are you facing a reality check?  Living with the parents in order to save money?  I’d love to hear your feedback!

Count those raindrops!

DecMeadow.

6 responses

  1. Meg

    its called being resourceful!! in the great depression even different families would enter into a co-op and live in the same house, let alone related individuals. there is nothing wrong with that, and will help keep family ties. I could never live at home again, but its mostly due to non-compatable lifestyle differences. rent isn’t cheap, that’ just how it is. but i do think it becomes more odd when the son or daughter is married (with or without children) and the new spouse lives with their in-laws. but that is just my personal opinion…and preference!

    October 12, 2012 at 10:20 am

  2. No problem! Don’t feel bad about it (doesn’t sound like you are) and surely don’t let random people on the internet make you feel bad about it. It’s a smart option and it sounds like it’s working for your whole family. It will greatly speed up your debt payoff and it’ll be worth it!

    October 12, 2012 at 11:36 am

  3. April

    Don’t feel bad girl if i could do somethings over it would have been to start out living at home while I saved money but i chose to move and start a life without thinking about the after effects of it all. So stay at home as much as you can to save up so that one day your life outside of home will be the way you want it to be not struggling day in and day out. Don’t get me wrong I love my husband and the life I share with him I just wish I would have thought of the future more instead of the present.

    October 12, 2012 at 12:40 pm

  4. It doesn’t bother me at all. It’s a win, win, win situation for everybody around. My mother is about to have surgery on both her knees, so I’ll be around most of the time (except when I’m at work) to help her, I live pretty much rent free so I can work on my debt, and my guy and I can still enjoy being ourselves and together without the stress of debt and bills together. Some people might not understand why I enjoy living at home, but I honestly do have a great relationship with my mother and don’t mind sharing the space, and thankfully, neither does she. 🙂

    October 14, 2012 at 2:57 am

  5. hownottokillyourparents

    Living with parents can be awesome. I know it is for us. Sure, it took some getting used to – and we have our fair share of ridiculous and awkward – but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    December 10, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    • I know right? Honestly, my mom and I are probably what most people would consider a “best friends” relationship. I truly enjoy my time with her.

      December 10, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

