A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Reality Check – Auto-Shipments

There’s a lot of personal investigating going on into my finances right now as I continue this blog and work to get my debt worked down on daily basis.  So when I saw that I seem to be making no headway on my Chase credit card, I had to look into what was happening.  What I found was sad.  Months ago I had tried a new cleansing product that could assist my weight loss and it was placed on auto-shipment in order to save 50% on the price of the product.  The It Works! wraps are decent and I truly do feel better after each application.  The price of these are just too high.  Now that I’m truly going into the depths of my finances, I have to make some sacrifices.

I needed to cancel that auto-shipment.  It was killing whatever progress I way trying to make on the card’s balance.  So, with a heavy sigh, I went about to cancelling the auto-shipment on the It Works! website.  I tried to delete the item from my auto-shipment.  It didn’t work.  I tried to cancel the auto-shipment all together on the website.  It didn’t work. At this point, I became incredibly frustrated.  No matter what I was trying to do, it was seemingly impossible to cancel my auto-shipment agreement.

I searched for how to cancel the It Works! program after the frustrating hour and half occurred.  Finally, I found the culprit.  The company does not have a way to cancel the automatic program on their website.  In fact, they don’t even have a way explaining how to do so on their website either.  The sneaky little buggers had made a very successful notion of keeping its customers: by making them so frustrated that they could easily get a few more auto-shipments because the customer will give up looking and then the out-of-sight, out-of-mind trick will occur. Man was I determined not to let this happen to me.  In fact, I continued searching for a few more minutes and found the easy solution.

The automatic shipments of the It Works! program can only be cancelled by calling the phone number that was provided by an It Works!  At this point it was a little late in the evening, but sometimes there are automatic calling systems right?  Ha… when I called them they explained that they were only open to take phone calls at certain times of the day.  Of course.  Another out of sight, out of mind trick.  Blargh.

I waited to the next morning and called within the time frame.  After that, the process was wonderful.  My operator was a delight and completely understanding.  And I found that because I had done three months of the automatic shipments, that I would be able to keep that 50% discount if I ever so wished to purchase on a one-time basis.  Well, okay then!  I might do that later.  I of course still have some of my products from my auto-shipments left.  I cut the wraps in half and sometimes in quarters in order to get the most of my money and applications.  Maybe I will purchase more at a later time.. maybe I won’t.  Honestly, the bad aftertaste of knowing the trickery that’s at play has made me lose my appetite for it, no matter how much the wraps helped me feel better.

So here’s a bit of a cautionary tale for you all.  If you have an auto-shipment, look into the process of how you can cancel that shipment if you ever feel the need to do so.  You might have also forgotten about one and need to check the status of it.  Be prepared.

Do you believe in auto-shipments?  Have you had a similar experience?

Count those raindrops!

DecMeadow.

One response

  1. April

    I didn’t even know that you could set up a shipment for auto. So thats a new experience for me. My goodness how companies get us without us even thinking about it.

    October 26, 2012 at 10:21 am

Leave a Reply

