A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Reality Check – Job Hunting

I quit my job last Friday.

 

I have to continue to tell myself that I have done this because it has been years since I have been without a job.  Nearly five years actually… and there was honestly only a four month interval where I was without a job then.  I’ve worked throughout my college career, sometimes 40 hours or more a week and have sometimes had more because I would have more than one job at a time.  I’m crazy, I know.

I’m probably crazy even now for quitting my job, considering the economic unrest, but I could not do what they wanted me to do this time.  I could not take a fourth transfer in as many months to a location even further away from my home.  It would add at least 20 minutes to my already 40 minute commute, and considering that I put in about 1/3 – 1/2 of my weekly paycheck into my gas tank, I just could not afford it.  I would be going into an unstable environment where rumors and back-stabbing is common.  I would be working for a boss that does not treat any of her employees with respect and does not try to curtail the drama within her store.  My schedule would also continue the night shift to next morning shift switch.  I already have to fight to get sleep, but considering the boss I would be getting, I knew it would be impossible for me to ever be congenial again (I get very cranky when I haven’t had at least five hours a night)…  Adding that onto my commute, I had to say I was done.  My boss tried to get me to stay, make the decision seem more enticing (no raise was offered) but because she already asked the other person of my management rank (who had less seniority than I, but had done so because I was off taking care of my mother after her surgery and was I not there the day she decided she was going to sit people down….) and that person had said no, that left little choice for me.  It was going to be a mandatory transfer from what was explained to me.

My mind has been whirling since it happened and I’m trying to figure out what I’m going to do.  I need to find some ways to make money online and perhaps offer some of my artistic services and various other talents for freelance while I look for another job.  I really do not want to deplete my bank account… It’s there technically for emergencies, but I want to avoid draining it at all costs.

Any ideas?

Count those raindrops

DecMeadow

4 responses

  1. What is your field? It does sound like a good opportunity to move up and into something better.

    November 21, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    • I graduated this past spring with a teaching license. I left my job in the retail/gas convenience store industry. It was most definitely time for a change.

      November 21, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      • In that case, while you look for something full-time, perhaps you could do some private tutoring or put together some enrichment classes for homeschool students?

        November 26, 2012 at 7:32 pm

      • Hm.. I will have to try that. The homeschool classes seem like an interesting way to go for sure.

        November 30, 2012 at 1:13 am

Leave a Reply

