A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Making an Address Book/Contact List in Excel

So I have to admit I’m a bit of a pack rat when it comes to things like people’s numbers, addresses, etc.. I had a whole drawer full of slips of paper, napkins, old envelopes that had been written on by people I love or care about.  This was in an attempt to when I would have the time to put them all in an address book..

By hand.

Ha, so you can understand why they have all been sitting in a drawer for a few years as I’ve been collecting my contacts and networking with people from college and previous employers.  Needless to say, this huge cleaning urge sprung and I had the brilliant idea of putting them all on the computer.  All those pieces of paper are gone and instead on my hard drive, a flash drive, and another back up disc that I have conveniently in case something would happen to any/all of them.  I know there are a lot of people who put these on their smart phones, but I have a tendency of being clumsy and I’m not sure how much longer my battle-worn Samsung phone can take it much longer.  I plan on transferring all of my contacts from my phone to my Excel Address book here soon.

So here’s how I made my simple address book in excel.

1. Open up your excel file.  On the bottom of the screen you will see tabs labelled Book 1, Book 2, Book 3, etc.. Right click on each one and label them according to how you group your contacts.  For instance, I am part of a gaming clan, have family and friends, and have business contacts.  So I labelled mine accordingly and have Personal, DOS, & Business as my books.  If I feel the need to expand and make more tabs, that won’t be too much of a problem because Excel allows you to have more than just 3 tabs in a single file.

2. On the top of the first row, label your columns A-H from left to right: Name, Address, City, State, ZIP Code, Phone, Fax, & Email.  I also added an additional column for Cell Phone numbers because you know… we’re in the 21st century.  Fax is sadly so antiquated now, but I still include it for my business contacts.  As I said before, don’t be afraid to adapt this for your own purposes.

3. Highlight your columns, center and bold them so that they are easier to see when you are looking for a contact.

3. Format your ZIP Code and Phone/Cell Phone.  This can be done by right clicking on the letters above your columns (A-H remember?) and then selecting Format Cells.  From there you select Special in the left hand column and then select either ZIP Code/ZIP Code + 4 (although the +4 will just skew your ZIP codes that you only have the first five, so I just go with the regular/simple ZIP) or Phone Number.  Easy as pie.  Mmmm… pie.

4. Now here’s the hard and tedious part.  Start entering your contacts.  This can take some time, so if you need to walk away for a minute, feel free.  My pile slowly dwindled as I had my handy-dandy wastebasket next to me as I went along, but there were a couple of times that I needed to walk away and let my eyes uncross.

5. Make sure you save your document as you go!  Freak accidents always happen and sometimes Microsoft Office doesn’t save EVERY last piece of your document that you’ve been working on for hours.  It happens!  I can only lament on some of the instances where I was almost finished with a paper or presentation and something odd happened to my computer and I lost almost everything.  So SAVE!

 

I might update this little thing later and make it more crazy awesome as the time goes, but right now it’s suiting its purpose just fine, and that my friends was cleaning out my desk drawers so actual desky things can go in them, like my obsession with office supplies.

Count those Raindrops!

DecMeadow

Leave a Reply

