A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

December 2012 Bills Breakdown

Alright, it’s bill payment time again.  These totals are as of December 1st, 2012.  The budget this month is simple: spend as little money as possible.  This is because I’m unemployed (like I haven’t said it enough???), and that obviously changes things a LOT.  Also, all of your comments and encouragement have been really helpful!  I’ll be taking some of your suggestions to heart these next coming months.  So… Let’s work this shall we?

Car loan: $4,031.46. This one does not need to be broken down.  The loan is through a credit union, and has slowly been paid off by adding an extra $50 onto the principle every month.   As discussed before, I will be doing this every month until it’s gone (or until I need to fund that extra $50 to say… my student loans). This month’s payment will be $301.00.

Credit Cards: Last month I revealed that I pay more than the minimum payment.  Some of you suggested actually using Ramsey’s snowball effect however and picking a card to eliminate right off the bat, working with the smallest balances first.  Well, that’s a great idea, but I still like to have a little more than the minimum.  So this month, we’re going to try something new.  This month, because I’m unemployed, I will only be paying minimum balance (except Amazon & Solidarity) and the oddball change and then putting a major chunk on one of the card balances to take a massive bite out of it.

  • Solidarity Visa: $2604.85  Minimum payment: $0. This month’s payment will be $25.85.
  • Chase: $1354.07  Minimum payment: $36.00.  This month’s payment will be $36.07.
  • Pay Pal Bill Me Later: $1907.11  Minimum payment: $51.00. This month’s payment will be $51.11
  • Best Buy Store Card: $22.38  Minimum payment: $0. This month’s payment will be $0.
  • Amazon Store Card: $821.01  Minimum payment: $25.00. This month’s payment will be $41.01.
  • DressBarn Store Card: $429.19  Minimum payment: $25.00.This month’s payment will be $25.19.
  • Capital One:  $-25.80  Minimum payment: $0.  This month’s payment will be $0.
  • Best Buy Mastercard: $261.15  Minimum payment: $15.00.This is the card that I have decided to bite this month, so this month’s payment will be $61.15

Total Credit Debt: $7,373.96   Total Payments: 240.38.

This is compared to last month’s credit debt of $7,373.31  and total payments of:  $362.83, which means my debt went up 62 cents!  Crap!  Now, I have admittedly used my PayPal Bill Me Later account this past month for a couple of purchases (which is the reason you’ll see it’s actually larger than last month’s) but I have accounted for it in my budget, so no worries there.  Also, as I told you last Wednesday, I transferred the balances of my Capital One, Best Buy Store Card and a huge chunk of my Chase credit card to the new Solidarity Visa.  There were some fees in doing that, ($75.86 to be exact), so I anticipated this slight plateau in my journey to become debt free.  Also, because I’m unemployed as I write this, I am certainly glad that I made that decision a month ago to do the balance transfer!  Now nearly half my debt will not be gaining interest, and I can pay just the minimum balance and still be knocking it out at the same time!

Depending on how I do employment wise, these might change a bit during the month, and if so, I’ll be sure to update you.  I’d like to add the extra $120 that I usually have going to bills out this month to the Best Buy cards, but at this point, I have to find cuts where I can in order to be sure the January and February bills are paid before a tax return comes around.

Student Loans:

ECSI: $650.00  Still in grace period.  

Direct Loan:  $18,862.74  Still in grace period.  

For the month of December I am going to be allowing this grace period to do its job again.  I have way too many big bills in the month of December to be saving for to worry about the student loans at the moment, so I won’t.  I will be kindly nodding my head in approval to grace I’ve been given and just deal with the inner voice that’s frustrated that I won’t be able to work on these until January.

Other anticipated bills this month:

Automotive Insurance: $336.11

Complete Total Debt: $30,918.16   Total Payments: $663.83 + Auto Insurance = 999.94

Holy crap!  Nearly, okay that’s too close for comfort… $1000 for payments this month with no job income to be seen!  I need to find a job and quick!

Please let it rain!

DecMeadow

2 responses

  1. I still think the $50 toward the car loan would be much better served toward credit cards. How much interest will the car overpayment save? What do the numbers show?

    I’m a little confused on the balance transfers. So are there still balances on some of those cards? The Best Buy store card? Even if they are “just” $20ish, it’s good to totally eliminate it if you can.

    Did you make a purchase on your Amazon Store card? Because your November balance was $822.48, and your December balance (with a $39 payment for Nov.) is $821. Yuck.

    Keep on attacking one card at a time to eliminate these boogers.

    December 13, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    • Oh yes, I’m planning on eliminating the Best Buy store card this month if all goes well with some extra cash flow if possible. If I make it to the extra $100 over my minimum goal of making at least enough money to handle a car payment this month, I’ll be putting it all back to the cards immediately.

      December 14, 2012 at 2:11 am

Leave a Reply

