A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Approaching a Milestone with a Possible Budget

Well, my man and I are approaching our two year anniversary on Sunday and it’s pretty clear the bond isn’t going to break.  We’re stuck with each other, and love it.  With kids today getting married young and even my own peers are starting to say the “I Do’s” to each other (I think I know of three weddings just this month of fellow compatriots?) people are wondering: When are we going to tie the knot?

And the answer to that is: not anytime soon.   My guy is still in college and will be graduating this May.  When we first talked about futurey things, we definitely agreed that both of us would be graduated before the question was ever asked.  And after he graduates?  Well, I want to work on some of this debt first.  I’m doing a pretty smashing job so far in my opinion honestly, and I’d like to see it continue that way for some time to come.

We did set out a budget for the nuptials whenever they occur however.  He and I are very picky, and aren’t into following all the shenanigans of wedding necessities that for some reason the industry insists one must have to have a “successful wedding.”  To be honest, if he and I went to a Justice of the Peace, I wouldn’t have a problem with it.  Don’t get me wrong, looking at wedding things is certainly a past time of mine, but there is so much of the frill and the tulle that I can live without thank you very much.  Instead, I’d rather do things my way.  And that includes a budget.

A couple of months back when I started this blog, my guy and I sat down and truly discussed this possible wedding budget and if it were doable or not.  We think it certainly is, and are willing to cut the frill and satin out to get there.  What’s the magical number you might ask?  Well… $6000 for the wedding.  $4000 or less on the honeymoon (the part where we can honestly want to splurge).

I know there are so many people out there who want all that extra to make their very special day very special, and I don’t mind it.  It’s your day.  Do what makes you happy.   And for me, having a down payment on some property and possible blueprints for a home are my main concern truth be told.  So that means we’ll be living with our parents for a little while longer as I work down the debt and he works on saving and we both work on finding decent careers.

The Breakdown:

Photographer: $2000  This is the part where I refuse to budge on quality. I want photos of my day clear and artistic with a whimsical feel in spots and serious and gorgeous in others.  Finding that special photographer means being willing to pay for it.

Food: $325  We’re definitely going cheap, and he and I are already thinking something really simple and fun for this.

Cake: $150 Why do you need layers to a cake?  Seriously… a sheet cake does the trick in feeding all those hungry mouths.  A simple two tier is all you need for the pictures and the 1 year anniversary luck.

Venue/Preacher: $300  We already know a few places that we can reserve for under $100 total.  We’re stoked and ready.

Tuxes: $500  Rentals of course, but my guy also insists on helping his groomsmen and my man of honor (yes? you read that right… what of it?) with supplementing their budgets so that they’re not breaking the bank either.  It’s expensive to be a part of your best friend’s wedding!

Dress: $550  My guy scribbled this one down and I couldn’t help but be awed and love him more.  I was seriously considering writing down $250-300 for this and he just upped the game so I could have an awesome dress.  Love you so much for being so great!

Paper: $120  Save the Dates, Invitations, Thank You Notes…. SOOOO EASY TO ACCOMPLISH THIS I TELL YOU!

Decorations: $200  It’s going to get Crafty in that house of mine whenever the wedding is set.  Of course that will probably be years from now, but still.  DIY all the way.

Bouquet/Boutonnieres: $100  DIY can work here too ladies and gents, and that’s exactly what I plan on doing 😉

Wedding Rings: $1000  This is the other big spender.  My guy and I like expensive metal.  And we’re certainly wanting to splurge a bit on the most symbolic and memorable part of the ceremony.  I never said I had a cheap sense of taste my friends.

What number did you give for your wedding budget?  Did you do it for less?  Decide that certain things were more necessary than others?  Let me know!  I might have forgot something.

Count those raindrops!

DecMeadow.

3 responses

  1. The biggest factor in your budget will be the guest list count. Not sure about feeding many people for $325…perhaps snacks? Some venues require an in-house food purchase, with minimum. Didn’t see alcohol in the budget. Don’t forget wedding-day beauty prep (if you want to pay someone to do your hair and makeup, which really is a helpful idea!)

    Overall, seems doable! My wedding was around $3k and we cut too many corners. I don’t really regret it now, because we were weeks out of college and just too broke to do anything else. I would have made a lot of cuts to the guest list, looking back. Too many random relatives!

    My photographer was only $500, but because I worked in a newsroom I had access to lots of great photojournalists. He gave me a good price and I got all the digitals. I’m with you though, this is one area where it’s worth it to spend, since there are no do-overs!

    December 21, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    • We were thinking about 100-150 people to be honest.. Most of those would be family and close friends as my mother has six other siblings and all of them have had children. We have some friends who are caterers that would do the job just for the price of food (although they would be seeing a nice tip). Also we’re both big fans of Jimmy John’s and their catering for big subs would actually be doable with that budget.

      Thankfully, our reception venue will be incredibly easy. We have an honorary membership at the local’s VFW and we could have the night for $25-50. Throw in a $25 tip for the bartender and we’re set. Best part, it would be a closed bar (yes, not huge on the etiquette part or so they say, but it will definitely keep the alcohol budget down).

      We also have friends who have offered to bake the wedding cake as their gift to us. So we’re truly counting on friends and family to help us keep the budget low.

      December 21, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Leave a Reply

