A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Reality Check – Unemployment

When I quit my job in November, I applied for unemployment.  I applied for dissatisfaction of the workplace and figured I wouldn’t get it.  However, I still had to try right?  I was told that I had an actual standing 50/50 chance to get unemployment just because I honestly had a reason why I had to quit.  Well, I followed through with the paperwork, I have been applying for jobs and filling out vouchers.

Earlier this month, I was paid.

I couldn’t believe it at first, honestly, how many people do you know who quit their job because of dissatisfaction of the workplace and win unemployment? I don’t think I know anyone.  And yet somehow, I was receiving unemployment benefits.  It still blows my mind.  Yes, I was going to be forced to transfer to a dysfunctional store, yes I was going to be travelling an extra 50 minutes a day in addition to the 65 minutes I already traveled a day for work.  Yes, I was not offered any additional compensation and was already putting 1/3-1/2 (depending on how many calls I received and had to go back to work) of my paycheck back into my gas tank.  Yes… I knew all of that.

But I don’t know anyone who has quit his/her job and received unemployment.  I had a great argument as to why I had to quit, sure, but wow!

I haven’t wanted to tell you all about this earlier, because I wasn’t sure if my former employer was going to be appealing the decision.  It already took three weeks for the decision to be made, and the former employer had until the 20th of December to appeal.  So far, I have received nothing in the mail saying I have to go to an appeal hearing, and we’re keeping our fingers crossed.

Wish me luck guys, because honestly, if I really do have these benefits for 26 weeks, this buys me time.  It gives me more than enough to pay my car payment and a good chunk of my credit card debt every month.  With the additional income that I have been trying to earn by selling unneeded items from my personal collection as well as my art, I am hoping to be able to round that out.

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

One response

  1. Pingback: 2012 Breakdown Quarterly/Annual Report « Rainy Day Savin'

Leave a Reply

