A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Reality Check – Tax Filing Delay

I don’t know about you, but I am a little perturbed that my government has told me that I am not allowed to file my federal taxes until the end of January.  I also am not happy that it is already expected for a 21 day wait even with the option of direct deposit.  My good ol’ state of Indiana is doing the same; not allowing Hoosiers to file until February 3rd for state taxes.

Sure, this whole fiscal cliff thing is the brunt cause of it.  The government is gaining interest on the money that I have put into the tax collection over the past year in hopes to be able to pay government employees. I get that.  Taxes are up, and those who have jobs have already seen the hit to their paychecks, especially in my house, since the 1st of the month.  So I’m already anticipating not getting  a lot on my tax return because the government can’t agree on helping the little guy right now in this stupid situation.

Whatever.

I want my money though.  In fact, I’ll even go so far as saying that this year, I need that tax return.  I claim zero every year in order to make sure that I get a decent tax check every year, and usually I am able to spend 1/4 – 1/3 of it on just me; the rest goes to bills.  This year, however, I need every penny of that as I look for another job.  I need to make sure that my auto insurance in June is paid.  I also would like to tackle either a couple months of my car payments and perhaps eliminate a credit card or two, or just put the rest towards my student loans that are coming up soon.  I haven’t quite decided yet.  Honestly, because of all of the changes this year in tax law, I’m not sure how much I’ll be receiving.

I just hope it’s enough to take care of my expenses in June with the auto insurance.

 

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

Leave a Reply

