A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Rainy Day Goal #3 – Homemade Arnold Palmer Half & Half Tea

It’s been awhile since I had a Rainy Day Goal post, and I wanted to show you a neat way of saving money this time.  While I was working, I became addicted to Arnold Palmer’s Half & Half Pink Lemonade tea (what a mouth full, I know).  As a result of my unemployment, I was craving it almost to a fault.  Almost every day that I worked for the last two months of my employment at the convenience store, I would either have one 23 oz can at work, or would take one with me on my way home after a rather long day.  If I was going to be off for a few days, I would stock up appropriately, so you can guess how I was missing my Arnold Palmer by day three of no job.

 

My sweet, sweet addiction..

 

My local grocery store had it on sale a couple of times during the months of November and December, and I would end up pleading for someone to pick it up on their way home from work.  Yes, I was wanting my Arnold Palmer so much that I would become stingy on my gas budget and instead would funnel $5 or so a week into buying that tea.

Thankfully, I found a solution.  One night, while my dear friend was making her iced tea, we contemplated on the idea of making a version of my Arnold Palmer.  We had quite a few Country Time Pink Lemonade in our pantry because we all have a Pink Lemonade craving during the summer and always had a pitcher of it handy.  Whenever my local grocery store had it on sale for 10/$10, we would each raid the shelves and buy about 50 at a time.  So with the help of our ice tea maker, we started experimenting.  This the recipe that I ended up enjoying, and even though it’s not as mild as the actual Arnold Palmer, I prefer the more sour kick that my tea/pink lemonade has.

 

Arnold Palmer Half & Half Pink Lemonade (with a kick)

Ingredients:

  • Water
  • Ice
  • 6 Lipton Tea Bags
  • 1 Lid full of Country Time Pink Lemonade

Directions:

  1. You will obviously want to follow the directions of your ice tea maker.  If you don’t have one, consider investing in one.  They are only about $30 – $50 and with the mileage ours has… it’s totally worth it both economically and ecologically instead of buying tea from the gallon.  This is the one we currently own and I completely recommend it.
  2. Usually your ice tea maker requires about half the pitcher of water, dump it into the water reservoir and then fill the pitcher with ice.  Our refrigerator’s settings on high, so I usually reduce the ice by about a fourth.
  3. Dump the lid full of country time on top of the ice so that when the hot water/tea comes from the machine, a lot of it will already be mixed.
  4. I have 6 tea bags, but if you prefer your tea being stronger or lighter, that’s up to you.
  5. NO SUGAR.  This will just sweeten the heck out of this stuff and the country time already has enough of it.  I also like the sour kick anyway.
  6. Let the machine do its work.
  7. After the tea is brewed, stir the remaining lemonade with a spoon.

 

Simple as that.   Really, really easy.  And it’s saving us lots and lots of money, as instead of paying $1 per can, I’m paying more like $.30 for an entire pitcher.

 

Hope you enjoy 🙂

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

 

2 responses

  1. April

    Thats a great idea!

    January 23, 2013 at 9:49 am

  2. It’s hard to come by educated people about this topic, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

    January 28, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

