A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Reality Check – Unemployment Update #1

It’s time for a check up, a personal check up that is.  You all might be wondering how the unemployment life is, and all I can say is it is very frustrating.  I know with this economy I am expected to wait a long time for my next possible job.  I know that.  I know statistics say that I’ll be one of the lucky college graduates if I get a job within the first year of searching. I’m fully aware of that.  However, that doesn’t mean that I accept it.

I know how talented I am.  I know how dedicated and forward-thinking I am.  I am a problem-solver.  I am the most loyal, best person you will ever see when it comes to a career that helps me.  That might sound prideful; arrogant even, but I honestly don’t care. I need to be that way, especially right now.  If I do not keep feeding this confidence, I might become desperate.  If I become too desperate, I might become willing to become underemployed.  Actually, I don’t have a problem with that, I have a problem with being employed far below even my own “bad economy low standards.”

My standards are simple:

  • I do not want to be hired in fast food, unless it’s management.
  • I do not want to be hired in fuel industry ever again.
  • Retail is sketchy, and I have to be very picky on applying for positions in that industry.

See, I’ve already been in all three of those categories.  I’ve been in retail, and I can tell you this: you really do lose faith in humanity.  Having worked in the retail industry for over four years, I became a huge introvert.  There was no reason whatsoever that I wanted to go out and spend time with people.  In fact, I hated people.  The “people mentality” is horrid, in fact I believe it’s worse than the mob mentality.  My theory on “people mentality” is that they become the most base of human outright.  Life MUST revolve around them, and if it does not, than it’s time to make a huge temper tantrum in order to get one’s way.  Seeing this almost three to four times a day got REALLY old.. really quick.  So I’m sure you can understand why I became very jaded against the whole idea of humanity.

Hopefully I don’t have to ditch these standards anytime soon and instead I can find the job that I will be happy with for a very long time.  Wish me luck, and if you’re hiring, I’m interested.

 

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

2 responses

  1. April

    Hey Girl, I saw a sign hiring for management at Wendy’s in Kokomo on dixon road just down from the kroger plaza. I don’t know if thats a far drive for you considering I don’t knwo where you live right but just thought I would pass on the information.

    January 28, 2013 at 11:14 am

    • Thanks! We’ll see if it works.. it’s a little far, but we can always try.

      February 11, 2013 at 1:28 am

Leave a Reply

