A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Living off a $100 for the Month of January

Alright guys, I know it’s been a week since I last posted, and I apologize for that.  I needed a bit of a break to recharge, as well as get a few other things accomplished.  Now that I’m back, I’ve decided that in the next couple of weeks I’m going to be working pretty hard on making sure I have some posts in the wings in case I need to take a break from the blogging world again. Hopefully I’ll be able to have about a week’s worth of posts in the wings at all times.  That’s one of my goals for February.

Now, as for the actual reason I’m talking to you.. I’d like to celebrate a little accomplishment that occurred in January.  I only lived off a $100 budget.  I should clarify on this, as I know you all are aware of my bills breakdowns that I post every month to help keep me more accountable.  Yes, I spent that money on bills, but the $100 I’m talking about right now is spending money.  This was money that took care of the rest of expenses, including my monthly prescription.  By the time January was over, I actually only spent $96.90.

I actually went under with $3.10 to spare.  Holy crap!

I hadn’t given myself a budget number for the month of January. I only told myself that I would spend as little money as I possibly can. I admit I indulged just a little bit, but I was very happy at the end of the month to see that I only spent this little.  I’m hoping that in the next couple of months that I will be able to keep this budget in order to keep my savings where it’s been: at a stand still.

Again, I feel very proud of myself right now.  Now that I know I can do it, I almost wonder if I could continue the no-spending and see if I can shave off any more.  I’m not sure if I want to risk it, because some of the money that was spent became a bit of a godsend as the items kept me from going stir crazy with cabin fever.  What do you think?  Should I continue to shave the budget?  Or did I do the right thing by being very conservative?

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

Leave a Reply

