A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Reality Check – Always Double Check to See if You Have Hidden Fees on Credit Cards

Awhile ago I told you all about grey charges and the evil they truly have.  I was so proud of myself for having found all the hidden charges on my credit cards.  I was even happier when I cancelled them and no longer saw the crazy looking balances the next month out when I was making payments.  Seriously, how could my balance go up nearly $60 each month when I hadn’t even used it?  Surely that wasn’t just interest!?  Of course it wasn’t.  It was those silly little grey charges.  The hidden fees like Payment Protection plans and Credit Keeper are the biggest culprits.

Sadly, I must confess to you all right now… I missed one.

Yes, that’s right, I missed one.  I missed the Amazon card.  I couldn’t believe that my card was making no progress at all each month and I was paying more than the minimum balance.  After hunting down the statement (waiting every day til the postman left it) I found that I was indeed being grey charged.  And honestly, it enraged me.  I do not remember signing up for that stupid service, and I had to kick myself for not realizing it sooner.

Last week I cancelled the stupid fee and will hopefully start seeing a difference being made on my Amazon balance.  Here’s hoping.

There is a lesson to learn from this though.  Never feel comfortable when you think you’ve taken care of the problem.  In the words of one of my favorite characters from Harry Potter, you must have “CONSTANT VIGILANCE!”  Who knows, you might accidentally click on a link while paying your bill that reactivates the service.  It might happen.  Credit card companies are sneaky sobs after all.

 

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

Leave a Reply

