A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Rainy Day Goal #4 – Spring Cleaning with Pinterest!

It’s officially been Spring since March, but we ended up having a huge snowstorm that dumped nearly a foot of snow on our area just before April arrived.  I ended up burning up a LOT of calories digging the family’s spots out while they were at work and man, was it worth it!  Since then it’s been slow going for Mother Nature to get her behind in gear and bring out the warm weather, but I believe it is finally upon us!  I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to see Spring honestly… I really am more of a winter person.  However, I attribute the change of heart this year because of my unemployment situation.  There is just so much more that you can do and places you can go on foot when you don’t have to worry about snow and the cold that brings that silly stuff!

Last Friday, I began the Spring Clean with the big guns.  That’s right, I was multi-tasking to the EXTREME!  While I was dusting, I always had a load of  bedding and blankets in the dryer.  I vacuumed, dusted, mopped, organized, washed windows, anything that you could imagine.  I’m not sure if you or your family has experienced it, but the last two weeks have been rather rough on the members of this household.  Two were down with illness and the my brother and I were fighting to keep it from becoming the full blown thing.  I made sure to vacuum my bed as well as my mother’s (the one who was sick) while the bedding was in the wash and dryer.  I even febreze’d the mattresses to reduce the smell of dog after sucking up a winter’s worth of dust mites about which I really don’t want to consider.  I opened quite a few windows while I was cleaning them and created a nice breeze that brought some fresh air into the house as well.

My arsenal for the day:

  • Rags
  • 409 Glass & Surface Cleaner
  • Febreze
  • Vacuum
  • Wet Vac/Floor Washer
  • Newspapers
  • Aluminum Foil
  • Vinegar
  • Water

I ended up cleaning for almost two hours non-stop as I used some techniques I found on Pinterest to help me keep going.  Did you know you can easily clean your microwave  with just a 1 part vinegar and 1 part water (I went with a cup of each) in a glass measuring cup and set the microwave for 10 minutes?  Neither did I.

Before

 

 

I was pretty thrilled to find out that this little pin of mine actually did indeed worked like a charm and I only needed to put minimal elbow grease into fully cleaning the darn thing.  The stuff pretty much just wiped right off!

 

 

After

 

How great is that?!??  I also found a great replacement cleaner for my Hoover Floor Wet Vac as well.  If you’re trying to stay away from the unknown cleaners that you “supposedly” have to buy in order for your machine to work, here’s an easy one.  While filling your container for the wet vac to the line it indicates, add a drop or two of Dawn into the container and allow the solution to mellow.  It works like a charm.

If you’re wondering about the aluminum foil, tear off a decent sized piece and scrunch it into a ball.  Throw it into your dryer and it replaces the dryer sheets that seem to get more and more expensive as time passes.  The aluminum foil acts as a perfect thing to keep the static out of your fleece blankets and hoodies.  Honestly, it’s been working for a few weeks now for me whenever I do laundry for the house.

What have you done to “MacGyver” your Spring Cleaning this year?  I’d love to know!  I’m collecting these pins on Pinterest to horde for future cleaning endeavors and the like!  It’s kind of sad, but Pinterest made it a little exciting to clean, because I was more curious on whether or not these things would work instead of dreading the cleaning part. I attribute that to the curious scientific researcher in me.

 

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

2 responses

  1. At last! A microwave that looks like mine . . .then you cleaned it. I sure hope that’s as easy as it sounds 🙂

    May 1, 2013 at 6:43 am

    • It really is! I honestly didn’t believe it, but when I tried it.. voila! Now if you have big problems in the microwave, you may want to this twice to lessen the elbow grease. It was incredibly easy to wipe down, but there were a couple of places where it had been really bad and caused a bit of scrubbing still. I should have just plopped the cup of vinegar and water back into the microwave for another 10 minutes!

      May 1, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Leave a Reply

