A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

A Raindrop – Student Loans Successfully Deferred!

This cartoon pretty much describes how much I feel like a low-life sometimes because I still live at home and this debt.  I know I’m paying it off, and I know that I’m doing my best, but sometimes I feel like I’m just not doing enough.  I also feel overwhelmed by the idea of my student loans and how some of them are gaining interest and just getting me in debt even further no matter how much I’m working on the rest of my debt.  *THUD*

If you’re unfamiliar with that sound, it’s the millions of college students hitting their heads on their tables/desks/counters after looking at their student loans coming into the mail.

Perhaps the only thing that I can happily say today about my student loans is that I’m attacking the smallest one first AND I was able to successfully defer my other because I can show proof that I’m unemployed.  It only took about 30 minutes of hunting around on the loan site to figure out what exactly I need to do, but then my request was sent and the nail biting began after that… Until I finally got a letter accepting my request.  I have until August to get rid of the rest of my debt as much as possible.  Hopefully I’ll have a job by then.  If I don’t, I can defer it again for another six months.  And depending on where I am in my debt during THAT deferment, I might be able to start attacking that other loan too!  But we shall see.

Huzzah for deferment, BOO for interest on un-subsidized loans.

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

2 responses

  1. Go go go! My husband and I just finished paying off his $50K+ student loans and we feel SO relieved. You can do it!

    May 7, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    • Thank you! I’m trying very hard to get as much debt as possible gone! My guy just found a decent job and he’s working to save money (he luckily graduates debt free this year) so that we might be able to have a down payment on a house in a couple of years. We’re both very excited with the progress that we’ve had!

      May 7, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

