A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Even Though It’s Spring, I Still Have Cabin Fever

It’s been spring for almost a month, and for once, I am unhappy to say that we are getting the rain we need.  Don’t get me wrong, when the water table is under 30 feet and your area has been in drought mode for two plus years, we definitely need the rain.  Unfortunately, it just doesn’t stop.

Every day this month, it’s rained at least once.  And in the last two weeks, it rains in the morning or middle of the night, and then it rains in the afternoon.  I love rainy days, again, I feel I have to defend them, as I love getting things done that I normally couldn’t on a rainy day compared to a normal one.  However, since I’ve been unemployed, I usually can get a lot done nowadays.

And sometimes you just need to have a day where you just do chores.  Yes, I said chores.. and when I mean chores, I mean landscaping including mowing the lawn.  Because it has been doing nothing but raining, my grass has been doing nothing but growing.  Yesterday my guy and I had a short interval of time where I was able to convince him to help me get some of the yard mowed.  We got 2/3 of the back yard (this does not include the rest of our yard) before my brother came out and informed us of the storms coming and the tornado watch that had just been placed until 1am the next morning.  As we were not in the mood to get electrocuted, and we were already having a hard time with the soggy ground and tall grass with the mower, we decided to give it a rest.

I still have a lot of lawn to mow though… I have five trees and seven bushes to prune (I spent a summer being a landscaper, so I got this).  However, I’m not looking forward to it.

 

What do you do on your rainy days?  Are you having as much frustration with the weather as I am?

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

Leave a Reply

