A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Reality Check – Shopping for Cell Service

I told you awhile ago that my mother was shopping around for cell service but that pretty much meant sticking with our current provider.  I also told you that we were able to update our service plan, get everything that we possibly wanted (and more) for a cheaper price.  Low and behold, that happened.

I also told you that we were told that we could update my phone for no charge.  Well.. not so much.  In fact, as it turns out, we should updated my phone before we went to the new service plan.  If we had done that, we would have most certainly been given a new phone for free.  I’m beyond upset at this.  Not because I need a new phone, I don’t.  It upset me that we had to deal with someone who had no idea what they were talking about, and lead us on.  My mother was upset as well.

My mother still insisted on paying the $400 over the course of the next few months to get me one however.  I truly love my mother, and when I get a job, I will work my butt off for the next year to make sure she gets every cent of that cost back.  It might take a little convincing, but it will happen.  Anyway, the problems didn’t stop there.  My mother paid a good amount for the phone to be shipped, and we were under the impression that it would it arrive within a few days.  It didn’t.

After three weeks, we called the cell provider once again.  Operator #3 had to hand over her call to Supervisor #1 as my mother was very angry and wanted to know what had happened.  Seems Operator #2 forgot to tell us about an email that we had to answer within 24 hours of us ordering the phone and providing an electronic signature. As my mother never checks her email but once in a blue moon, this never happened so the order was cancelled. Ugh.  I’m telling yah, I do like this provider, I really do… but right now they are just all over the place in their management of their service through their policy transition that people like us end up falling through the cracks and having these stupid little things to follow. I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt this one time, as they have always been great before, but if it continues… well I’ll just have to find an alternative if only to get away from this provider.

 

The headache of that mess is now over and has been for about a month, so I can now say that I own a new smartphone.  It’s pretty, and I love that I can catch up on all the wordpress bloggers that I follow with such a simple app wherever I am.  It certainly comes in handy when I need a bit of a pick me up or have a craving for a little bit of reading.

Moral of the story: be careful what you’re doing when you update your service.  If your current service provides free stuff, get it first and then switch to the cheaper alternative.

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

2 responses

  1. 4allseasons2000

    Cell phone shopping is so confusing, we ended up switching to one of those pay per minute services a couple of years ago. Unfortunately they don’t have cool phones but it has been nice and cheap with pretty good coverage. My friends make fun of me and my cheap phone, though.. 🙂

    May 14, 2013 at 9:04 am

    • My guy has a Net10 phone, so I understand where you’re coming from on that. However, it’s actually pretty awesome for him to have it because he has service pretty much everywhere. We’ve tested that theory and have had all major providers in a car once (road trip), and sure enough when the rest of them lost service, my guy had it. So you have something to most likely brag about!

      May 14, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Leave a Reply

