A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

Rainy Day Goal #6 – Simple Landscaping/Tree Upkeep

Did I mention that I spent a summer as a landscaper? No?  Well, I did and I am now the handy dandy person with it comes to this stuff around the house.  I got pretty fed up with the way my trees were sagging one day that I bought some cheap shears and limb cutters and went a hacking.  It was a pretty liberating experience, and since then, I’ve made it a point to prune the six trees on our lot 2-3 times a year to make them look goooood.  Not only that, but I’m saving us major money by doing it myself. I mean come on, why not use the previous experience and training that I acquired on that hardworking, back breaking (not to mention the worst sunburn I EVER had) summer and use it to my advantage? My mother has noticed all my hard work too over the years, as I now am sporting some nifty new gear.  Check out the new tools my Mommy bought for me!

image

These babies got to see some massive amounts of usage last weekend when my guy and I went out with a ladder and began pruning the trees.  By the time it was all said and done, I had nearly a tree’s worth of limbs ready to be picked up by the composting department from the city!  Now don’t get me wrong, I still have bushes to trim and a few more pesky baby limbs to prune, but that should all be done sometime today.  I pretty excited to go back out and hack the stuff up and make it look all pretty.  All of the stuff below was what happened in less than two hours when I convinced my guy to help me by keeping a ladder steady and taking turns being on it.

image

Count those Raindrops!

-DecMeadow

Leave a Reply

