A Factory Working, College Grad Getting Out of Debt

A Breakdown Comparison: A Year of Progress

Last October, I posted the breakdown of my debt.  It was perhaps the most frighteningly personal thing I ever did in my life so far.  I honestly am not sure how I still had the gumption to show you all what I was facing.  However, I knew I had to be honest to myself of where I was before I could make a game plan.

The following November I quit my job because of the work situation there and started unemployment life.  I was unemployed until this August where I (thankfully) started at Chrysler.  I’ve been on a strict budget due to my unemployed status, but I feel that the strings can be slightly loosened now that I’m more comfortable in my life with the fact that I’m now getting a life-sustaining paycheck every week.

So after a year, it’s time to see what progress I made.  Where I am now in my debt, in comparison where I was then.  I’m not anticipating it being a big difference, as I was after all unemployed.  So I’m not going to be expecting a huge difference.

To make the comparison a little easier, I’m going to show last October’s numbers in italics, and today’s numbers in bold.  So it will look like this: Back then / NOW.

Car loan: $4,564.49. / $1,239.02

Credit Cards:

  • Chase: $2,372.37  $1265.37  
  • Pay Pal Bill Me Later: $1,905.10  $2,011.16  
  • Best Buy Store Card: $1,173.54  0
  • Amazon Store Card: $835.25  $655.79  
  • DressBarn Store Card: $480.46  0
  • Capital One:  $516.97  / 0
  • Best Buy Mastercard: $377.15  0
  • Solidarity Visa: 0 / $2310.00  

Total Credit Debt:  $7,660.84  $6,463.28   

Student Loans:

ECSI: $650.00 0

Direct Loan:  $18,862.74 / $19,269.44     

Complete Total Debt: $31,738.07 / $27,334.56

Okay, so that means that over the past year, I have decreased my debt by $4,403.  That’s not too bad right?  Considering that I was unemployed from November to this August right?  I feel a little down now because of it.

I guess I’ll just have to get a little more aggressive and make up for the bad fortune of last year.

Please let it rain!

DecMeadow

Leave a Reply

